Black & White Office Wear

My weekly problem will always be on Thursday night when I have to figure out what to wear the next day. I work in a corporate company where we MUST wear the company’s uniform every Monday until Thursday. Every Friday, it’s smart casual where we are allowed to not wear the corporate uniform but still maintain the professional corporate look. See the problem? For four days in a week, I literally have nothing to worry about when it comes to my style and then comes the most important day of the week, I literally have to figure out what to wear. As I was browsing through my closet today, I noticed how many black, whites and grays that I owned, so here are some inspiration options that I was able to conjured up.

I owned so much blacks, whites and grays and I realised that the reason I have them is because it’s so much easier to complement them with my skin tone, my body shape and of course with each other. Black, white and gray pretty much can’t go wrong when mixed together. Not even if you pop in a small dash of colour, the look will still be appealing. 

Black and white top with maxi dresses

Being a Muslimah means that I have to appear more conservative and one of the things that can help is the ever so awesome, long maxi skirts. Be it sheer, fitted, flowy, patterned or pleated, pair them with a simple top, everyone will be ready to go. I have a pear-shaped body so the best form of long skirt is actually the mermaid cut. I would love to be able to wear some of the other styles of skirts but I can probably do it someday – after I lost my hanging belly.
Black and white two-piece style

Another style that I like is literally pairing the two colours in a two-pieces form. My favourite will be just pairing a patterned or voluminous top with a pair of slick high-waisted pants. Again, with my hanging belly, it will never be flattering on me. Basically speaking, I can do styles where i have to tuck in the top into my pants because that just doesn’t work on me. But one style that I know I might be able to pull off is probably pair a smart fitted jacket or loose cardigan with a one-colour maxi dress. One good tip that I learned about my body shape is that outerwears are lifesavers because it gives off an illusion that my heavy hips are smaller than it really is.  

Black and white fitted outfit with outerwear

The last trend for black and white office wear that I am truly interested in is the three-piece outfit of having a top, bottom and outerwear. Be it fitted jacket, cardigan or even sweater, since it’s casual Friday, these three-piece assemble will still look rock. This maybe the best outfit assemble for me as I have said before, outerwear gives an illusion to my body shape which means, instead of looking skinny, basically it helps me to look more flattering. My favourite would be pairing my outfit with a patterned boyfriend jacket but pulling off the sweater look is something I would like to try too. 
So we shall see what I will be wearing tomorrow. Hopefully, I get to arrange my assemble because even though I have so many black, whites and grays, putting together an entire outfit for the whole day is no easy feat. 

Leave a comment