30 Days Book Challenge : UPDATE ——– Failed!!!

I dread posting this because it shows just how lacking I actually am. It’s true that I can comfort myself to say that I’m just human but reading has always been something that I have always loved so to find out that I have failed to finish reading this book in the time frame that I have set for myself is not only embarrassing but disappointing as well.

So, 29 Dates is about Jisu, who is forced to transfer from South Korea to San Francisco by her parents. I am not sure how accurate the lifestyle or the expectations of South Korean elite parents are but the way Melissa de la Cruz explained it, I am honestly very much grateful that my parents are nothing like them. But that is not to take away that my parents are both very strict and yes, they do put a lot of pressure on me and my siblings to achieve as high as the sky but they never really put that much of pressure if us ensuring a life partner. Although, they do expect that we have our own ambition and goals. Imagine how proud they will be when they finally find out about my great dream with 5214. Anyways, back to the book – I am still at chapter 10 (yes, disappointingly) and so far I have yet to reach the climax of this story. The main thing that I could pick out is that the story focuses mostly on Jisu having to achieve the best results in academics and in finding a partner for her. 
To be raised in a family without siblings and financially stable, I guess you don’t have to figure out how to survive the harsh reality of the world. The life of a privileged individual. I am by no means have anything against those who are raised privileged. I just feel like for different people, they have different issues to face. Now, currently, where I am at with this story, Jisu found herself attracted to one of the boys that one of her classmates has a huge crush on. I guess I’m about to expect some girl fights in the next few chapters and possibly a romance that may not be forced upon Jisu. By the way, Jisu’s parents set her up with a matchmaker to help set her on a few blind dates in the hopes that one of them might be her soulmate – that’s never how the story ends. 
Based on the reviews, 29 Dates is a good book for some light reading with a sweet twist of romance and I guess light reading romance book, isn’t entirely my kind of genre but nonetheless, for the sake of the challenge I shall finish and maybe come back with a better review and summary of the book. 

Leave a comment