Positive July : A Short Story on Teatox

Photo credit to Good Housekeeping

Now, when it comes to teatox, there is something that many have mistaken it for. While we see many celebrities like Kylie Jenner, Britney Spears, Nicki Minaj and even Cardi B and many others, what most of them would post is just a picture of themselves holding or drinking the detox tea. What most don’t understand is that that tea alone did not contribute to their banging bodies. You see, to get really fit and have healthy physiques like your fave celebs, it doesn’t take tea alone. There is more than just drinking something to get abs or that hourglass-shaped figures. I am here speaking out the truth because this is entirely based on my own personal experience. 

Teatox – is actually a new word that combines tea and detox and if you don’t know what detox is, detox is basically the short term for detoxification where the body is flushing out toxins that are bad for the health. Of course, when you meet some medical experts they would say that many of us are now using the word detox too loosely but that’s not the point here. The point here is that it is not us or the celebs or the teatox brands that are using the term detox too loosely but it is the fact that we entirely rely on just pictures to get an outcome that may or may not be as similar as the picture we’ve seen. Which is what I wish many celebrities who are seen promoting all these brands of teatox to actually really tell the exact stories as to how they got their physiques from. No doubt that some of these teatox brands actually works but if you truly pay attention and lookup on some articles about teatox, you may find out exactly how these teas actually function. Most of them do not contribute to weight loss or body shaping. 
Two years ago I decided to try teatox and the brand was Bootea. I wanted to try it because, at the time when I was still madly obsessed over Lindsay Lohan (I think I still am now), I caught her posting on Instagram, so I decided to try it. 14 days later, I still look like a walrus and nowhere near where Lindsay’s figure. My energy did pick up but very slightly and my complexion, still the same. The long story cuts short, I as nowhere getting any better than I did before which was why I decided not to try teatox – ever again. Coming into 2019 and especially since recently with me wanting to change myself for the better, I try looking up on articles about teatox and even detoxing at home. I also look up on articles about celebrities fitness regime (mostly Lindsay Lohan, again) and up until last month, I did find a few interesting facts that were, unfortunately, not shared with many. 
You see, teatox has its benefit like flushing out the bad toxin in our bodies and provide that boost of energy because tea contains caffeine. But it definitely cannot help with weight loss or body shaping. Those two need to be done with a little bit more of workout and of course a few pinches of discipline (something I am still working on). So, I am not going to deny the benefits of teatox nor am I going to shoot down the idea because I actually did try it out again, but I am here to set the records straight. 30 days ago (which was early this month) I started teatox again with a different brand because when I Googled top brands for teatox, Skinnymint came up (and I think I sort of fell in love with the packaging too). The only difference for me this time is I try to add up everything that I have read and learned while I was teatox-ing. The result – I did lose weight but only slightly (about 2 kgs only). 
What does that mean now? What it means is that, yes it’s true that the teatox helped with giving that slight boost of energy to wake up early in the morning and start on my workout but it was my workout that helped me to lose weight. Of course, if you decide to go with Skinnymint, another reason I decided to go with it is because of the 28 days activity schedule that they included which includes some workouts and meal plans. The best is when I was reading up about Skinnymint, they actually provided a warning about not trying out the products if I have plans for fasting. Aside from the workout suggested by Skinnymint plan, my other workout included a short ten minutes hopping on the trampoline. I tried many others workout like jogging and breeze walking and even the gym in the past but I just did not find it interesting until trampoline. As for body shaping, I found out that to get a nice body like the Kardashians or J.Lo, there is this thing called spandex which is a blessing but it hurts like crazy and I have yet to actually force myself to try it on a regular basis (yes, I still have some tummy and rolls which is why I am not sharing my before/after pictures after my teatox plan).
There are plenty of articles out there about teatox – its dangers, deceptions and of course its benefits so look it up and read up on them if you have any plans to try out teatox. But most importantly, it is best to understand that teatox on its own, it won’t help you get that body your celebrities are famous for and you will not find out from the brands itself. Most importantly, before you jump onto the teatox plan, I insist very seriously to consult a professional medical assistant i.e. doctors for some advice on the current state of your health and the best programme that could help you out. I did my consultation and my doctor told me that if I do try out teatox, it may just help me to boost my stamina slightly because I am still a big girl and I have many complexities to overcome first. He also informed me of the best result that I could get with teatox and he wasn’t wrong. Basically, what doctors could do to help is not only to mentally prepare us for the change of habit but to also prepare us for the outcome. My doctor told me that the most I would lose is 2 kgs and I did lose 2 kgs. 
To summarise this post, here are some things that you could possibly help should anyone decides to try out the teatox plan:-
  1. Consult your doctor – help yourself by going out there and seek some medical advice and of course to prepare you mental health for the best and worse and most importantly the actual outcome that you will get. No one knows better about your health than you and your doctors. Be as open as you can with your doctor and ask them anything and everything you want. Look at them as a medical consultant because doctors are qualified for these things. 
  2. Research about teatox – go on Google or anywhere really and read up all about teatox from the good to the bad and all the way to the ugly. This helps to truly make you understand how teatox actually works. 
  3. Learn more about your idol and how they maintain their healthy lifestyle – don’t just scroll through celebrities social media for their latest look, style or outfit or even their next holiday destination only. Get to know them and their workout regime. There are some articles out there like their interviews where celebrities open up about their vigorous workout that contribute to their amazing body shapes. 
  4. Research and choose the best teatox brand –  my current favourite is Skinnymint because the teatox plan comes in a package of two types of teas, one for daytime and one for night time. Best of all, they also come with an activity schedule that is easy to follow and simple for lazy girls like me. Note that there are other brands out there too. For those residing in Malaysia, just drop me an e-mail if you like to get your hands on Skinnymint teas.
  5. Choose your favourite workout – remember, if you plan to lose weight, don’t just drink the tea because that won’t work as much as you want to, but drink it after you have a workout regime. One thing I missed out is that I only work out either two or three days a week (because I’m still too lazy to move), hence why I only lost 2 kgs. So if you want to work out as vigorously as your fave celebs, you might have a better chance to lose more. 
  6. Be prepared – the thing about teatox plan is that once you start, you can’t stop until that 14 days or 28 days are over. That’s the only way to see the result the best. And you can’t skip a day. So my advice is to truly prepare yourself for this. Also, please do understand that there won’t be any changes within the first few days from when you start your teatox plan. The changes will start perhaps a week after. That was what it was like for me because with Skinnymint’s Night Cleanse, the info stated that users will start to flush out a lot in the beginning because of the toxins that were accumulated inside our bodies. I only started to truly feel the flushing a week after drinking the Night Cleanse tea and it was not pretty – at all. 
I hope those tips are helpful but again I have to stress on doing your own research before proceeding with anything because one of the most dangerous things about teatox and going at it unprepared is that, it could be poisonous to the body and the system. Have some fun while researching and should you have any questions, I will try to answer. Just drop me a comment or an e-mail at fiftytwofourteen@gmail.com. You can also follow me on my social media.

Leave a comment