Throwback Thursday : My Love for Gossip Girl

When you have spend most of your sixteen to early twenties in between 2008 – 2010, you are probably familiar with ‘Gossip Girl’ – the TV Drama that introduced us Blake Lively and Leighton Meester and I am madly in love with the drama as I am madly in love with the books. Honestly, I was slightly turned off when I heard of the TV Show spin-off of the book series but I was so impressed by the performance of most of the actors that I can’t help myself to love the show and here I am walking down a few memory lanes of some of my fave moment in Gossip Girl.

Honestly, the one reason why I loved the book by Cecily Von Ziegeser is because the short highlight into the world of the rich and the privileged, a world I’m familiar but not that familiar to the point of understanding the craziness of those involved. Nonetheless, it is entirely fun to read. When the series kicked off, I was curious at first, then after three episodes down, I find myself indulged and intrigued week after week. More than just the characters and the actors portraying the roles, the clothes, the food, the parties and of course the plot twists, it was all falling into place for me liking. It took me to accidentally catch the Ms Mojo video of Gossip Girl’s top fashion that brought me back to binge-watching the series and finishing up the book all at the same time. Here are some videos that I would like to share from Ms Mojo:-
Top 10 Gossip Girl Characters

Top 10 Gossip Girl Moments

My personal favourite – Top 10 Gossip Girls Outift We Want
Throughout my college, this series was the ultimate show that I would wait every week just to catch the latest plot and I actually stayed throughout the entire six seasons – that is how much I love the show and yes, I have all the books too. My favourite character was neither Blair or Serena. It was actually Jenny Humphrey so when Cecily von Ziegeser decided to branch out the Gossip Girl series to The It Girl series in which the book revolves entirely only on Jenny, how can I not follow that series. I don’t wish for the a TV Show of The It Girl, but it wouldn’t hurt. Although, I don’t think it will ever happen considering that I don’t think Taylor Momsen will ever go back to acting and I don’t see anyone else playing the role other than her but show business is a mystery business. My favourite Jenny was during the second season, with her hair slightly shorter and she had more significance in the show. Best of all, I just love how much Jenny grew in the show – from sweet Jenny to punk rock Jenny. 
With the reboot on HBO Max(?) coming soon, I don’t know if I am excited or nervous about it because I’m not sure how well the new show is going to blow up in comparison to the OG show. A huge part of it of course was set up by the amazing casts – they were all natural born actors but again, the show and the story holds such a great sentiment to me which is why I think it worked the first time. I’m not sure if the same will happen with the reboot but there is still – hope. XOXO

Leave a comment